Mentorship

Clinical supervision is obligatory to register for the Intermediate and Advanced Exams. 90 hours of supervised clinical hours must be completed by the end of the month of January preceding the Intermediate Exam and 60 supervised clinical hours must be completed by the end of the month of August preceding the Advanced Exam. Mentorship hours can be begun after the completion of the Clinical Integration course.

The AQPMO will give subsidies to the Quebec physiotherapists challenging the Advanced and Intermediate Canadian Manual Therapy Exams. They need to have completed their courses in Quebec. The subsidies will be $825 for the Intermediate Exam and $450 for the Advanced Exam. The payment will be provided on presentation of the Orthopaedic Division letter sent after finishing and passed the exam. The committee hopes that this will encourage more Quebec physiotherapists to pursue their levels of manual therapy to the point of attaining their Advanced Manual Therapy Diploma.

Fee guideline for mentorship

The following is the suggested guidelines for mentorship payment which is paid by the student directly to the mentor.

All financial transactions should be discussed clearly and professionally with the student and the Orthopaedic Division strongly encourages that all fees charged to the student for mentorship are designed to help minimize any lost income by the supervising mentor and not as a means of profit. The fees are up to the mentor to establish.

Direct Clinical Hours Only:
1:1 student: mentor ratio = $50.00/hour suggested
2:1 student: mentor ratio = $60.00/hour suggested
3:1 student: mentor ratio = $70.00/hour suggested
4:1 student: mentor ratio = $80.00/hour suggested

The Orthopaedic Division strongly recommends that a receipt for “services paid” be provided to the manual/manipulative therapy student for proof of payment after the mentor has received full monetary compensation.

University of Western Ontario students for the master program: We suggest that the Western students pay the same price that the CPA ortho division students. They would have to pay the difference of the fees directly to the mentor.

Mentors list 2017 (pdf – 96KB)

Mentorat

La supervision clinique est obligatoire pour l’inscription aux examens intermédiaires et avancés. Les 90 heures de supervision clinique devront être complétées au plus tard à la fin du mois de janvier de l’année précédent la tenue de l’examen intermédiaire et les 60 heures de supervision clinique devront être complétées au plus tard à la fin du mois d’août de l’année de la tenue de l’examen avancé. Les heures de mentorat peuvent être débutées après avoir terminé le cours Intégration clinique.

L’AQPMO subventionne présentement les étudiants qui se présentent aux examens avancés et intermédiaires ET qui ont complété leur formation au Québec. La subvention est de 825$ pour l’examen intermédiaire et de 450$ pour l’examen avancé (pour les étudiants qui ont suivi les cours de l’AQPMO). Le paiement se fera sur présentation de la copie de la lettre envoyée par la division orthopédique après avoir complété et réussi l’examen. Le comité espère que cette mesure encouragera plus de physiothérapeutes québécois à poursuivre leur cheminement en vue d’obtenir leur diplôme avancé en thérapie manuelle.

Directive sur le paiement du mentorat

Toutes les transactions financières devraient être discutées clairement et professionnellement avec l’étudiant. Le Groupe d’orthopédie encourage fortement les intéressés à déterminer tous les frais de mentorat facturés à l’étudiant de manière à réduire toute perte de revenus du mentor superviseur et non comme une source de profit. Le tarif demeure à la discrétion du mentor.

Heures cliniques directes seulement
Rapport étudiant: mentor 1:1 = suggestion de 50 $/heure
Rapport étudiant: mentor 2:1 = suggestion de 60 $/heure
Rapport étudiant: mentor 3:1 = suggestion de 70 $/heure
Rapport étudiant: mentor 4:1 = suggestion de 80 $/heure

Le Groupe d’orthopédie recommande fortement qu’un reçu pour “services payés” soit remis à l’étudiant en thérapie manuelle comme preuve de paiement quand le mentor a reçu le total des compensations financières.

Étudiants de l’University of Western Ontario à la maitrise clinique: Nous suggérons que les étudiants de Western paient le même tarif que les étudiants qui suivent le système de la division orthopédique de l’ACP. Ils devront alors payer la différence de tarif directement au mentor.

Liste des mentors 2017 (pdf – 96KB)